What Kind Of Insulation Between The Walls

khoury0044

I'm a drummer of 2 years and me and my father are going to build me a sound room in the backyard so i can play so far the dimensions are 12x14ft with 8 ft walls.NOW.. my questions are 1) would you guys suggest double walls or single walls.. and 2) what kind of insulation do i need.. fiberglass? mineral wool.. and where can i purchase them...3) roughly if i wanted to deaden the sound as much as possible so neighbors wont call the cops how much money would you think is needed. The sound room is mainly for drumming and the background is spread out greatly enough so its about 100 ft to the neighbors houses..

khoury0044 said:
I'm a drummer of 2 years and me and my father are going to build me a sound room in the backyard so i can play so far the dimensions are 12x14ft with 8 ft walls.NOW.. my questions are 1) would you guys suggest double walls or single walls.. and 2) what kind of insulation do i need.. fiberglass? mineral wool.. and where can i purchase them...3) roughly if i wanted to deaden the sound as much as possible so neighbors wont call the cops how much money would you think is needed. The sound room is mainly for drumming and the background is spread out greatly enough so its about 100 ft to the neighbors houses..

1. Double walls - room within a room

2. Standard fiberglass insulation - you don't really gain much for all of the added cost of mineral wool.

3. - ballpark - 10 grand....... you need excavation - foundation - electrical - etc., etc.

It isn't going to be as cheap as building inside of the garage or basement.

Rod