What am I using and are they good?

jackiecorn

I've built my own studio in a spare little room of my house in Hong Kong.
I want to ask a bit about sound insulations here.
Since I am a beginner I have no idea what the best sound insulataion materials I should use in my studio.At first I thought those foam pads with semi spheres sticking out are the best ones cuz I see almost every rental band rooms in my area have them.
However my mum went to China and asked for the best sound insulation material and ordered it for me. It came out to be some rather thin pads made of either fibreglass or mineral wool,I still cant identify them but they cost a lot more than those foam pads commonly used.
I glued them to the wall of my room and at first the room sounded weird when i talk in it,like I'm talking in an aquarium and has echoes. But after a month or so it sounds normal again like other rooms without them.
My primary goal of sound insulation is to block the sound from my studio from my neighbours as we live right next to each other. However the insulation effect was not as good as desired,we can still hear sounds from it from outside of the house.
I have an air conditioner attached to the wall with the other end facing outside the house and I think much sound is leaked through the air passage,how can I solve this?Should I stick foam pads on the front of the air conditioner so it blocks some sound but allow air passage too?
I also have a door that is made of thin wood and i think it also allows the sound to leak through it and travel to outside the house since our house's front door is very near our studio's door
Finally I would like to know what material am I currently using and are they better than foam pads at all at sound insulation?
They are thin,very light,kinda hairy and rather expensive.
Thanks for reading and I hope someone could help me out!