Thread: Search for room -> studio installation

chad.newbry

Hi,

I'm a hip-hop producer based in San Francisco. Please let me know if this isn't the right place for this, or if more information is needed.

Right now I've been working out of a bedroom studio (pictures attached).
IMG_5297.JPGIMG_7829.JPG

I'm hoping to setup a studio for tracking and mixing in a new (yet to be rented) apartment / loft. I'm hoping to find a space that's private enough that I don't prevent neighbors from sleeping, as well as big enough that I can get resonably good acoustics after treating the space.

The first question I have is whart sort of spaces should I be looking for? I've been focusing on basements/cellars, garages, rooms in lofts in that order. My thoughts being that list goes from most isolated from other people to least.

P.S. I'll try and keep this thread updated with spaces that I've looked at, as well as pictures of the build once I start doing it!

Best,
Chad

If your music is going to be loud enough to disturb neighbors, then you have to find a place with no neighbors, because soundPROOFing will not be 100% doable.

If you have choice, look for a space that you have open walls that can be acoustically treated without limiting space.

You will be best with a room with dimensions that are not even in numbers. Like 8x10x12' is a nightmare for room modes.

Are those the new Adam Monitors?

mjbphotos thanks for the reply! I think I'll have to do that then.

To be clear 90% of my time will be low level listening to instrumentals / mixing, but I want to be able to rap as loud as I can (yell) at 1AM and not worry about getting noise complaints. No need for amplified sound though.

What are your thoughts on a loft where I could build a fully enclosed room inside of it. So the sound would have to go through both the room and then the loft walls? (Was going to post an example picture, but I'm still too much of a newbie to be allowed).