Thread: Thread: Search for room -> studio installation

Thanks

Cool Thread: Search for room -> studio installation

Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi,

I'm a hip-hop producer based in San Francisco. Please let me know if this isn't the right place for this, or if more information is needed.

Right now I've been working out of a bedroom studio (pictures attached).
    img_5297-jpgimg_7829-jpg

I'm hoping to setup a studio for tracking and mixing in a new (yet to be rented) apartment / loft. I'm hoping to find a space that's private enough that I don't prevent neighbors from sleeping, as well as big enough that I can get resonably good acoustics after treating the space.

The first question I have is whart sort of spaces should I be looking for? I've been focusing on basements/cellars, garages, rooms in lofts in that order. My thoughts being that list goes from most isolated from other people to least.

P.S. I'll try and keep this thread updated with spaces that I've looked at, as well as pictures of the build once I start doing it!

Best,
    Chad

Thanks
    If your music is going to be loud enough to disturb neighbors, then you have to find a place with no neighbors, because soundPROOFing will not be 100% doable.
    Mike B My new album on CD Baby: Fact and Fiction
    My Bandcamp site: http://mikebirchmusic.bandcamp.com

3. The Following User Says Thank You to mjbphotos For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    If you have choice, look for a space that you have open walls that can be acoustically treated without limiting space.

You will be best with a room with dimensions that are not even in numbers. Like 8x10x12' is a nightmare for room modes.

Are those the new Adam Monitors?
    PC Win7-64-24G i7-4790k/Cubase 9 Pro 64-bit/2-Steinberg UR824's/ADAM A7x/Event TR8/SS Trigger Plat Deluxe/Melodyne 4 Studio/Other things that don't mean anything if a client shows up not knowing what it wants.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to jimmys69 For This Useful Post:

Thanks