Studio Design

violent grey

Is it possible to engineer one studio room that can be used for mixing AND mastering? Different monitors, different positions, different listening position... but same room and same acoustic treatment... can this be done? Further more, can this be done in a small room lol... 11.3 ft wide, 13.4 ft deep, 8.4 feet high?

I do my own work and music projects. I wish to create an acoustic treatment plan to target issues or problems and will make everything myself. I already purchased 250 sq ft of roxul safe n sound and have been using this setup for over a year now. It does have issues but gives me a sweet spot where I can hear the mix well enough. Id like to improve though. Im planning on a cloud using 703 panels. But I thought before I move any further, I should ask...

If I had the money to ask an engineer, how can I achieve my goal, how much would that be? I am not an educated engineer nor am I specailized in studio designs. Im well aware that mixing studios are in fact designed differently than mastering studios, as is the gear, etc. but can it be done? Im just looking t get as good as I can before I send it to a mastering engineer. how far should I take it?

I see for 300 bucks I can buy 6 8x4 ft sheets of 703 2 inch thick... I want to wrap my room in it... lol ... but dont know how to do the math to tell me what exactly I need, or where I need it. Any help is greatly appreciated. Im willing to invest a few grand in materials and design, but ideally the conceptual idea may not work. integrating two different physics... really. thanks for any help.

Hey there violent. If that is indeed your real name... lol!

There are many topics here that deal with similar situations.

I will say I would not recommend wrapping the whole room in 703. You want some life in that room if recording in it.