Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: Studio Building-If you had to do it all over again...

northampton uk home of Dr Who and Blackstar Amps!
    Thanks
    Sign in to disable this ad
    Quote Originally Posted by dwillis45 View Post
    If I had to do it all over again, I would put a four inch air gap between all my bass traps (corners excluded) and the wall. Air space should improve performance. It may only be a db or two, but this is a game of inches. Every little counts.
    (as the actress said to the Bish.....)

Dave.

Thanks
    If I had to do it all over again, I would put a four inch air gap between all my bass traps (corners excluded) and the wall. Air space should improve performance. It may only be a db or two, but this is a game of inches. Every little counts.
    Why an air gap? Not disagreeing, I'm just curious as I'm totally new to sound treatments.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Buggaluggs View Post
    Why an air gap? Not disagreeing, I'm just curious as I'm totally new to sound treatments.
    There's a science behind it...but the gap helps better trap the LF coming in and then going back through the trap. The 4" thing is just the most common, because people won't/can't give up more space to have the traps sticking out say...12'...etc...though there is a point where the gap too big...like once you get out to around 24", it';s less effective.

It works against the wall too...just not as efficiently for LF trapping. You want to make the LF work more through the trap, which is what slows/traps it.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Buggaluggs View Post
    You'll notice the built-in gap behind most corner traps, such as the one sold by Acoustimac. Unfortunately, when you buy a standard 4" trap most dealers don't include hardware to mount the trap off the wall. Some may provide kits but they usually cost extra. You can do it yourself with a little effort, though.