soundproof plumbing

eldaiquiri

I have a small pub on the ground floor of a high rise apt building. Some of the neighbors from the floor above have complained that they can hear the music, but only in their bathrooms. I need advice as to how to sound proof the plumbing which is located above the acoustic ceiling in my pub and passes through concrete to the upstairs apts. What can I do? Please help!

I'm not an expert with this, but I think you could replace a short section of the metal pipe with a length of soft rubber tubing capable of withstanding the water pressure. This is how isolating mechanical noise from air conditioners and forced-air heating works. But really, you should ask a plumbing contractor.

--Ethan

Just tell them that bathroom music to shit, shave and shower by, is provided at no charge as a courtesy to all tenants....then invite them down for happy hour.

I noticed that I will need to use some kind of foam to fill the gap where the pipe goes into the ceiling...should I use foam filler from home depot or Can you recommend a good product to use? If I need to insulate the pipes what product is good for this? Replacing a section of pipe with rubber is not an option. That is a good one Cosmic Cowboy! LOL!

I noticed that I will need to use some kind of foam to fill the gap where the pipe goes into the ceiling...should I use foam filler from home depot or Can you recommend a good product to use? If I need to insulate the pipes what product is good for this? Replacing a section of pipe with rubber is not an option. That is a good one Cosmic Cowboy! LOL!

Without seeing the actual problem it's hard to recommend what to do. Foam filler works well on think surfaces with a lot of filing to do as you get a good mass of foam in the gaps. If the surface is thin and the gaps small I would use silastic filler and with filler rod if the gap is a bit large. You could also stuff acoustic bats into gaps and seal over it.