Sound dampening advice.

Vhyle

Hey all... lurker here. I don't post much but I read a good bit. Lots of very informative, intelligent people here.

Ok so last night, I bought a new drum kit - Ludwig Element 6-piece, metallic gold/orange... it's a beautiful kit, and it sounds amazing. This is the first kit I've bought in 6 years. I've been playing V-drums for the last 4 years, and frankly, they just don't replace the real thing.

Anyway, I need to effectively soundproof the room (future aspects of it being a small studio are part of this equation, also), because I live in a mobile home, and the walls are pretty thin. I already know several techniques to sound dampen a room. Here's what I wanted to do, and those who have experience in dampening mobile home walls, please chime in!

I was playing them last night about 10pm or so (a bit late, I know), and the cops were called on me, hah. And I was trying pretty hard to play at half volume. I've been told that if the cops were called on you, then you have the kit that's right for you. But anyway,

A friend has as ton of spare carpet that he's giving me. I was going to coat all the walls and the ceiling in carpet, and tack egg crate foam on top of it. I intend to cover 100% of the walls and ceiling. I also considered doing the spray foam insulation inside the walls, AND doing the carpet/foam method on top of it. But renting a machine for that is kinda costly.

Will the carpet/egg foam be enough? OR should I spring for the foam filler along with the carpet/foam? Or is there another more effective method altogether?

And also, this room has one window, which is two large single panes of glass. I was thinking of also getting foam block and cutting it to size to fit into the windowsill. Is there a better method for windows, or will this do?