small room, small budget, fiberglass madness

jdragoun

Hey everyone,

I'm very new to this, but at least I've put in some research! Please have mercy on a studio beginner...

I've heard so many different things about Johns Manville and Owens-Corning rigid fiberglass, and I need some final verification before I make a purchase for my home project studio; My room is basically 10'x10'x8'high, with a vaulted ceiling (up to about 10' in the middle). 4 side walls are drywall, cieling is that cottage-cheese looking stuff, and floor is carpeted. I understand this is much to small to make a good recording or get a decent mix, but it is ALL I have to work with (for control room and studio combined). Thank goodness I won't be recording drums. Here's the plan:

I've bought some 8' bi-fold doors (the kind you might see covering your wardrobe closet) to use as room dividers for some isolation during tracking (one side insulated for dryer sounds, one side bare for wetter sounds), and to double as cheap diffusers while mixing (placed like triangles against the back wall). I haven't read of anyone doing this sort of thing, but it makes sense to me.

I have some 2'x2' ceiling acoustical tiles that I plan on hanging with wires from the ceiling to break up some of the echoes up there. I plan on purchasing rigid fiberglass for the rest of my acoustical treatment, and building cheap wooden frames and fabric to house it. How 'bout this: OC 705 (or JM equivalent) forming triangles in each vertical corner, all the way up the wall (works out good with the pre-cut 2x4 dimensions) to work as bass traps; OC 703 around the rest of the walls as needed to eliminate the high-mids and flutter echoes????