Recording room suggestions and make my wife love me

Markweeks51

My wife was previously singer and has shown interest in doing some recording for fun again. The idea is to surprise her for her birthday with a basic recording setup at home of her singing, possibly with me playing guitar. The gear is not a concern, though I have no knowledge of setting up a room for home recording...

I spend hours reading, and have found so much information that I'm now just confused. I've seen pros and cons for: Record in small room, big room, use a reflective filter, use a sound box, sing into the corner with sound foam in front and blanket hung behind, bass traps, gobos, record not in the middle, not on the edge, etc, etc, etc

Hoping somebody who has more knowledge and understanding can point me in the right direction to get the best recording I can, with what I have available. Our bedroom is roughly 18x18 with 8ft ceilings, one King bed and one wall of windows with curtain treatments. Also have a build in storage area into the wall that is 1ft deep, 3ft wide, and 8 ft tall that could have acoustic panels fixed inside it. (If that's a good idea) Otherwise, without anything permanent how can I best make use of this? Hoping to setup the room when recording, and otherwise put into storage when not.

Note, I'm in Thailand so have easy access to Foam Sound Panels, bass traps, and can DIY GOBOS, though heavy blankets don't exist nor do I have extra mattresses.

Any advice for a newbie and help make my wife love me even more? I (and my wife) will appreciate any advice you have! :guitar:

Don't bother with any acoustic treatment until you've experimented with the sound in the room as it is. For just recording guitar and vocals, you may need to do no more than cut any slap-back echoes down. Its when you start mixing and doing more complex mixes (with other instruments), that real treatment needs to be done.