Quick question. Outside wall, more mass is better... or not?

I read and asked here and of course watched endless youtube vids but I am a carpenter anyway so...........A timber building is great for insulation and noise until you touch the building either by rain and wind or somebodies size 12's walking on the timber/joist floor.

In either case all noise generated is transferred through the building and into your sound booth with a vengeance.

So I laid 4 lengths of 4"x2" on the floor and built the sound booth/room off those making sure that the walls and ceiling did not touch the walls and ceiling of the room it was built in.

Of course the 4"x2" floor runners are touching the floor. So I purchased some 100mmx10mm acoustic foam strip and doubled it up so it was 20mm thick. I placed this under the four 4"x2" floor runners so then none of the booth was touching the floor. So it was totally independent of the building/room it was built in.

I doubled up on the acoustic strip as I thought it would compress and reduce its effect but the weight per square inch is basically none existent and it hardly compressed at all if any. 10ft/120"x4" x 4 = 1,920 square inches. So 1000kg divided by 1,920 = just over .5kg per square inch.

It is well over the top but listening to you lot and watching vids really sends you paranoid. But hey it works!!!! And to get an almost 70db reduction on my first and yet only sound test is brilliant.

I refuse to add up how much it cost me.

The acoustic strip is purpose made stuff for putting under floors and walls to stop noise transfer in buildings.