photos of newest acoustic panel design

rockironwebb

senior newbie caveman
Here are a few photos of how I am going to build my next 10 panels. I appreciate the advice I got here and after thinking things through, I was able to cut costs as well as reflective surface. I used a 1X4 piece for the top and bottom and I used 1X2's for the vertical pieces. Total wood cost per panel will be $3.50. Soooooooooooo, without adding in fabric costs, the individual panel price for wood and roxul is about $6.50. I used a breathable sweatpant/fleece fabric on the first two panels, I believe it costed about $3.50 per yard.
I am brand new to doing anything with fabric so I may end up overspending a little in that area, I would rather have more for stretching and stapling than not enough.
Any fabric tips? like how to figure what I need per panel 15" X 48 1/2" X 4 1/2"
oh yeah and by leaving the sides open I have gained 141 square inches of non reflective area on my panels. I guess I didn't actually "gain" since I have the 1X2's covering roxul on the front and back, but having the sides open surely has some benefit.

Attachments

• IMAG0693.jpg
    IMAG0693.jpg
    61 KB · Views: 244
  • IMAG0694.jpg
    IMAG0694.jpg
    63.2 KB · Views: 239
  • IMAG0695.jpg
    IMAG0695.jpg
    61.7 KB · Views: 240
  • IMAG0696.jpg
    IMAG0696.jpg
    62.9 KB · Views: 241
Very good work Rock.
Are these to be wall mount or free standing? Either way how do you propose to accomplish that task?

they will be wall mounted. I will probably use small gauge stranded cable and eye hooks. I aim to have a 2" gap between wall and panel. I am considering hanging from the ceiling 2" from the wall in a couple of areas where they won't constantly get bumped. Any other area where there is going to be people walking by I'll just add a 2" spacer and mount to the wall.