Outlet Fun

Wonder if anyone's got some advice for me on grounding outlets?

I live in a rent house, & my second bedroom is my studio space. The whole house has two-prong outlets throughout, so it's unlikely there's a ground anywhere.

Since my studio equipment has three prongs, I switched out the outlets for the three-prong variety, attaching only the wires that were there, as there was no ground wire.

Of course, that didn't fix the problem of buzz & hum when I plug my acoustic guitar or bass directly in to the recorder (VS-880).

Has anyone dealt with a similar situation? Can you safely ground the outlets within the outlet box without going into the attic or the wall & generally tearing the place up?

A pain in the rear end...

I'm an electronics technician so I know what you're dealing with. What you did, replacing the old outlets..., is way against code :) But it's ok as you don't tell anyone. And unfortunately there is no EASY fix. What you have to do is somehow get above the wall and drop a wire down. If you connect that to the ground on the outlet and connect that wire on the other end to the ground bar in the sub panel that will do the trick. Choose the easiest outlet to do this do, because chances are you're only going to want to do it to one. Then just use power strips and plug everything into that outlet. You're not going to overload it or anything, chances are all the outlets in the room you're talking about are on the same circuit anyway, so plugging everything into one outlet is exactly the same as pluging everything into a bunch of outlets.
Hopefuly you can get a wire into that outlet.
-Later