New house, new studio space - Any advise Appreciated!

Drummerboy7816

Hi All,

I'm a drummer/guitarist and I'm recently moving to new house with a 12 x 16 space that I'm going to convert into my home studio. There is space right outside the room, separated by a door, that has a built in computer desk space which I'll have my computer/interface set up at. My goal is set up a live recording space in that room for my bands and music projects so that I can easily just record and mix relatively painlessly with solid results.

Here are some questions I wanted to seek out some advise/input for:

1. Since my Mics will all be in the room, but computer/audio interface will be outside of it, and I'll be wanting to keep the door closed for noise reasons, what is the best way to route the Mics cables (will be 12+ cables I think with drum mics and all) between the 2 spaces? I've seen the analog snakes but the cable between them seems thick and I would have to drill quite the hole to pass them through. Digital snake seems nice as the cable would be much smaller, but this is an expensive option it seems.
2. Most of the time I'll be on the drum set, but I would want a way to also remotely control and view the studio computer outside to start/stop recording and playback and such. What would be the best way to do this? Are there such things as wireless monitors? Would a wireless mouse/keyboard be able to work about 20 feet from the receiver attached to the computer, through solid wall/door?