Need A Recording Set Up For University Class

AshX

I'm a sophomore music major at a university and I've been taking a lot of sound engineering classes the past few semesters. I'm taking an arranging/songwriting class next semester which will require that I record stuff on my own, in the school studio, and mix it in and out of school. I write and record all the music for my band and have been looking to get a decent recording set up going for quite some time now. There are just so many options and given my not-too-high budget I'm trying to get something that will sound good (and won't require me to replace gear for something better too quickly) but get the job done.

Here's what I have so far:

• 2011-2012 iMac
  • 2011-2012 MacBook Pro
  • Logic Pro 9 (DAW only)
  • Carbon 49 Midi controller
  • Shure Beta 58A
  • Line 6 Mk II Spider Valve (Tube Amp with Modeling Effects) by Bogner live/studio amp

My college professors prefer Pro Tools (as do most people) and I'm not too set with Logic as I've only used it to mix things occasionally and really haven't learned much about it so switching wouldn't be a big deal.

What I've considered getting for my set up is this:

• Pro Tools 10 (Academic Edition) - $249
  • Apogee Duet Audio Interface - $595
  • Set of monitors - $300-$400
  • Shure SM7B Vocal mic - $349

I figure that as much as I hate not using real drums, it makes more sense to just program drums using my midi keyboard and given the high-end converters the Apogee Duet uses with 2 inputs, it would be a good start as far as getting a good quality recording. I've been looking into discounts on Pro Tools ($699 is a lot for a student) and saw the Academic Edition of Pro Tools 10. Are there less features and would I be better off just sticking with Logic? I've also considered picking up Guitar Rig 5 by Native-Instruments just in case I can't get a good tone from my amp.