My studio plans.

brsanko

Hi I'm kinda new to recording but I'm a fast learner and I am an audio hobyist so I have some knowledge of sound and electronics. I'm getting a settlement from a law suit soon and have decided to build a recording studio in my basement. The room is aproxametly 12' x 20' x 7'6". I'll try to post a drawing and my wish list so far. Let me now what you think of my choices and please feel free to offer any suggestions. I'd like to keep my initial investment right around $5000. The drums will go right in front of the bed. This picture is by no means to scale I just drew it up quick on Paint. Due to the small size of the room I think I will treat most of the bare wall surfaces. I have a large piece of carpet 3.5' wide running from the bed about 3/4 of the way to the mixing desk. The rest of the floor is cement, as are the walls. The ceiling is covered with a soft brown particle board of some kind looks pretty aborptive(sp?). I think making the room very dead will probably sound better than dealing with the sonics of a very small reflective room. Correct me if I'm wrong. I think I'll place the guitar amp and speaker under the counter by the sink. on top of that counter sits my casio keyboard I left it out of the drawing because I am a lazy individual. I will probably run a MIDI cord straight to the computer from the keyboard. I don't think the mixer has MIDI on it.

So that's about all I got so far let me know what you think.

Attachments

• STUDIO WISH LIST.txt
    1.8 KB · Views: 29
  • STUDIO FLOOR PLAN.JPG
    STUDIO FLOOR PLAN.JPG
    30.4 KB · Views: 90
Last edited:
I'd stay away from SM58s.

Why do you need 4 603s?

I'd save as much as you can on mics and put it into your drumkit or your interface. A cheap interface will bottleneck your system, but a bad sounding drumkit is impossible to "fix in the mix".