My studio building

nelsonpaschoal

Hello friends, I´m building my studio, in fact, I´m turning my garage into a studio, for years I use as a rehearsal space for my band and I bought some equipament for recording, my dad retired and the garage is in a process to become a recording studio. That´s the space I have:

planta.jpg

What I did until now:

- One wall full with foam, the one oppose to the stairs
- floor with sheets of rubber

I have a problem with the garage door, I can´t eliminate because I still put my car in the there. But I have a plan to make a inside door to isolate the sound from outside.
I have some doubts about the treatment, I really want to make all the calculations about the RT60, and the spectrogram of frequencies, and so on, but I am very new in this world, I am reading a lot in the forum, and learning a lot.

Some help will be great:

- the control room will be inside the recording room, I can´t make any change in the structure of the house, because of that, what kind of room concept I have to plan?
- placement of the instruments, mostly the drums, and the monitors with the desk and pc.
- the room is large, and the use of foam to reduce que reverberation kill the room, some people say that foam is useless others say is ok to use, how can I controle the reverb?
- I will put bass traps in at least two corners, which corners?

I have some equipment, some mics, a mackie onyx for A/D....

Later today I will post some photos. I want to make some decent recordings.
Sorry for my english, I´m from Brazil and learned by myself, forgive that!!

Cheers!!

Have you recorded anything in there with everything as it is now? How does it sound?

How big of a concern is soundproofing the door to the outside? Do you mainly desire to prevent sound (noise) coming in, or to prevent sound going out (disturbing neighbours or things of that sort)?