How would you lay out this far-from-ideal room?

diakonos1984

I have been dreaming of setting up a home recording studio for 15 years. After saving my money for a long time now, it's finally going to come together this year!
I have:
PreSonus StudioLive 16.0.2 mixer/interface and a rackmount PC, mounted in a portable rack
Wharfdale Diamond 8.2 studio monitors

I will be recording typical vocals, guitar, keyboards, drums. If I ever record any serious drum tracks, they probably won't be done in this room...

Within 5 years, I hope to build a garage with a mother-in-law suite (read: properly designed studio). However, for the time being the room that I have available looks like this:
Spare Room.jpg
It will have to be control room and live room.

It has several obvious negatives: 8' ceiling, nearly square, small.

It has a few things going for it: Hard surface floor, only one window, and is the largest room available in the house. But the main thing it has going for it is that my wife says I can have it...

...IF I also include a guest bed and a bookshelf.

I plan to build a Murphy bed (folds up to the wall). It's a queen size bed, so it's 5' x 7' when it's out, but only 5' by 12" or 16" when folded up. I use standing desks, and will have very little actually on the desktop (PC keyboard & mouse, small MIDI controller), so I expect I will probably just build it into the back of the folded-up Murphy bed. Monitor would either be on a swing arm mounted to the portable rack or mounted directly to the back of the folded-up Murphy bed.

Bookshelf doesn't exist yet. It needs to span one wall. It could include the Murphy bed.

So how would you orient all of that?

If I were going on aesthetics alone, and didn't care about audio, I would build the bookshelf on the 10'6" North wall and center the Murphy bed/standing desk inside it. Studio monitors would go on the bookshelf on either side of the bed. How bad would that really be? I know it would make the room more square...