How to turn a bedroom into a functional recording environment?

Cheeky Monkey

Hi all,

I've been playing guitar and writing my own songs for 26+ years. For the past 8 years or so, I've been hanging-out mainly at songwriting and guitar web forums to improve my skills in those areas. About 10 years ago, I briefly dabbled in home recording using a low-end Fostex 4-track. I now have a collection of songs that I want to record in a full production, and with little exception (e.g. bring in a sax player), I want to learn to do it all myself. I'm not interested in setting up a whole band to record, nor do this to make money (either by recording others or get a publishing/recording deal). This is a hobby for me, for personal satisfaction only. Over the past couple of years at the songwriting forums, some of the singer/songwriters are posting some excellently produced songs (at least to my inexperienced ears), and although I don't know for sure, are doing it with pretty basic gear. The issue of actual "studios" has never come up. Rather than ask there, I think some of you can give me the best, most informed feedback based on my needs.