Help with setting up room?

Equal-Opp_Tyler

hi im very new to this whole world of recording and stuff. the only experience i have is using a multitrack to record acoustic stuff. nothing fancy at all.

so i decided that i am finally going to start a more legit recording operation. i cannot find any space besides my bedroom for the time being. it sucks but i have to work with it. i am fairly sure i do not have room for a drumkit in my room. so i was thinking, could i just take my firepod amd a laptop to another location or room and track drums there then transfer files to the pc in which i will be doing all the editing?

also, how bad is it to track in the same room as the control station is? i was thinking of maybe putting the vocals in a closet(decent sized closet) and covering the micd amps with a blanket while tracking.

are these really bad ideas? i have very limited space for about 6 months. but i want to make sure that i can find people that need recording done around here (will be doing a lot for the local highschool garagbands) before go and rent a nicer space

thanks

Give it a minute, it usually takes a a little while to get a response.

As for your questions, tracking in a control room is ok if you are ok with using headphones.

Maybe if you have the same program on the PC and the laptop it would be just putting the project file to the PC. In that case go for it.

As for the vocals in the closet..one of the acoustic guys should take that one. Just a tip for the road, blankets dont do as much as people tend to think they do. Im not going down the treatment road though.

Good luck and im sure more people around here will be alot more help.

sorry, im just impatient i guess. i figured a blanket would maybe A) help isolate the sound a bit or B) keep a little extra noise out since it will be in the same room. i could prolly just change the gate tho right?

and the closet seems like the "deadest" space in the room. there is very little reflection in it.