Help me to make a shed into a makeshift studio.

koolkarlnz

Hey everyone, I'm new around here but my name is Karl and I'm a guitarist and vocalist from New Zealand. The drummer from my band has bought some recording gear which is sick. We practice in his shed which is all brick, 3 windows with a tin roof. I know this sounds like a ridiculous challenge to get anything good out of but I really like the reverb in the room. I've figured that the roof isn't going to create much reverb but will let things like rain and hail become audible. How can we make the room soundproof so that A, we don't get too much outside noise and B, we won't annoy the neighbours too much. A downside of the space is that it is in a family home so a permanent conversion isn't an option. Any help is much appreciated.

What are the dimensions (height, width, length)? Being that anything you are allowed to do is not permanent, you are very limited, and won't be able to make it 'soundproof'. Are their rafters on the ceiling that you can traps from?
Have you actually tried recording in there yet? What sounds good to your ears 'live' may not sound great when recorded.

The roof will be a pain - a tin roof keeps the rain out, but sound passes through both ways with ease. You need to add at the very least a solid new ceiling that has considerable mass. Is this doable? Brick is semi-good, so again, mass added helps there. Anything portable enough to be removed easily will not be much use at reducing sound levels.

Had to smile at this line.
The drummer from my band has bought some recording gear which is sick
I thought at first the drummer had bought a pile of faulty gear and the topic was going to be about fixing it!