Getting to build my own space at last...

sausy1981

Hi guys, well heres my story, I'm a 32 yr old guy from Dublin, Ireland. I've been recording at home for the last 6 yrs, but only over the last 2 have I spent serious amount of time doing it. I have persuaded my other half to let me build a small room in our back garden for me to record in. Below is a sketch of the floor plan that I have in mind. It is not to scale but I have the 2 wall measurements on it, these can not change and its the largest I can build. It will be single story 8 ft high. So basically I'm a singer/songwriter. I do my drums using EZ drummer so I won't be recording Live drums as much as I'd love to. I'm hoping to build a small isolation booth within my little room for guitar amps and vocals as the room will be quite close to other houses I want to soundproof the iso booth so that you cant hear the guitar amp outside the room but I can't afford to soundproof the whole room. I'll be recording acoustic guitars in the middle of the room and was gonna make moveable panels to control the sound. I have a large collection of books that are in my attic, I was thinking of having a large bookshelf on the back wall, (diffuser maybe?).. Any advice on how I could get the best out of this space would be greatly appreciated. I have only started to dig the foundations at the moment and I can only build to these dimensions, 9ft x 12ft x 8ft high, There will be 2 skins of blocks with insulation inbetween and the interior finished with 2inches of insulation then drywall. If anyone could give me advice it would be greatly appreciated, especially around acoustics, As always thanks guys...

Attachments

• Studio floor plan.png
    Studio floor plan.png
    14.1 KB · Views: 84
ya got the right idea man.
Rectangle = good. :D
I gotta feeling that iso booth is gonna make it cramped after ya get yer gear n shit in there. The fact ya don't do drums will help tho.
Are you doing a double wall type of setup?