First Home Studio - Advice needed

chdoom

Hi everyone!

I would like to get some feedback / advice on what I'm preparing to build. I want to build a vocal booth (that I would like to use sometime to record acoustic gtr, singer etc... So here's the plan:
Studio_Plan.jpg

I'm planning to build the booth where there's the wood floor... There's 2 wall already build that I would but another layer of drywall with greenglue between them.

double wall.PNG

For the 2 walls that I'm gonna build, I'm planning on doing double wall with 1 inch of air space between them.

I want to put in my 2 walls safe'n'sound roxul... I'm also planning to add windows and safe'n'sound doors. I'll add a air duct to my central air conditioning system.

What do you guys think of this? Is my planning ok? I'm forgetting something?

Thank you very much and any help will be greatly appreciated

D

Yes! I'm an audio engineer... So I need to record voice over with talents etc. So while they are doing their voice over, on my side there's music playing etc. I'm also recording some songwriter with their acoustic guitar...

Thx

You will need to acoustically treat the booth or it will sound very boxy. An acoustic guitar won't sound particularly good in such a small room.

Don't do it, build a nice sounding room and when they track, YOU use headphones. I've recently rebuilt my current studio to make two rooms into one, and it's so much better to record in. I have no need for my tracking sessions to take up one room while the singer was behind glass. Two bigger rooms is fine of course, but a small recording pace is horrible to sing or read in.

Yeah I get your point but there is couple concerns for me...First I don't want the client to have headphone when people doing their VO. I also have some constraint with air duct, wood beam etc. But you think a 3m x 2.5m room is too small for voice over? Thank for your help