Drum set and a brick wall - reducing noise with a PARTIAL barrier/panel

..What I was proposing actually WAS a "second wall" with an air gap, just not the ENTIRE wall. Is that clear enough? PLEASE explain to me why that would not help anything. It adds mass, which by itself should help, and designing it somewhat intelligently what concerns the air gap (CONTAINING ABSORBING MATERIALS) should help even more. It's somewhat like a gobo next to the wall. It's also kind of like an absorber, the reason for that being that an absorber can be designed for particular frequencies.

So let me say that again. A second wall, but covering only part of the wall. What's the matter? What would it do? WHY would it NOT do this or that (take your pick) acoustically.

I'm no expert but just to drop this in... Because the sound can still go around your barrier/absorber, it isn't an effective block, and has most of it's effect in altering the response in the room rather than preventing the transsmition through the room's structures.

mixsit: Absolutely, the sound will go around it. However, it could still be "effective". Just like a gobo, or an acrylic screen or similar concepts. I completely agree that most of its effect would be in altering the response in the room. Just as is intended.

Sometimes (not referring to this thread) these sorts of discussions are superbly off the wall. Like imagine a thick concrete block wall, but there's a 1 mm diameter hole drilled through it. 100% guaranteed an "acoustics guru" will come and say that since the wall has a leak (Oh my GOD! A leak!), it's completely useless. Which is obviously not true.