Could YOU convert this bedroom to home studio? If so, how?

fazeka

Hello,

I am a newbie. I have recorded some projects in the past at my friend's home studio in the early 1990s. I have my own house now and have only one smallish bedroom I can devote to my music. Basically "one-man band" singer-songwriter-rock stuff. FWIW, I plan to get an Alesis HD24 as my recorder.

I was hoping I could do something with the attached layout. I am not expecting an anechoic chamber by any means. ;) I just want to make some half-way decent sounding recordings. I was planning to put in some treatment such as rigid fiberglass, but am not really sure I know what I am doing and I need some advice given the space.

How would YOU treat this room? I have some money to spend, but not a whole lot. If I had a lot, I would simply add on an addition to my house and build a home studio from the ground up. :p I am thinking I can spend ~ $1k to $2k for room treatment.

Or if the room is simply not adequate at all for any type of recording, maybe I should just give up my dream? :(

Attachments

• room.doc
    23 KB · Views: 136
fazeka said:
I was hoping I could do something with the attached layout. I am not expecting an anechoic chamber by any means. ;) I just want to make some half-way decent sounding recordings. I was planning to put in some treatment such as rigid fiberglass, but am not really sure I know what I am doing and I need some advice given the space.

How would YOU treat this room? I have some money to spend, but not a whole lot. If I had a lot, I would simply add on an addition to my house and build a home studio from the ground up. :p I am thinking I can spend ~ $1k to $2k for room treatment.

First off I assuming you just need treatment and isolation is not important.

OK, you don't want an anechoic chamber. That would actually sound rather disturbing.