Buying 1st home - what should I look for in regards to building home studio?

M|\tt

Hello, everyone.

I come to these boards seeking assistance with a major life event: buying my first home.

I'm a bedroom musician, who does everything 'in the box' as far as recording goes. I want to make sure I get everything I need in a home purchase that will allow me to expand my operation to having dedicated, respectable space for recording.

I'm not looking to spend more than $200k on the house (to give you an idea of the resources I have to work with--that plus, I want to pay off the house ASAP).

To be honest, I am overwhelmed with my lack of acoustics/studio-needs knowledge in addition to the expected amount of overload that a first-time home buyer typically faces. I can handle everything else related to the home stuff, but considering that one of my major reasons for buying a home is to have my own quality studio setup, I want to make sure I know what to look for in a home--because I don't see myself relocating to another for a good while.

Here are a few of my assumed topics that I might need information on:

- I would think I would need to know something about acoustics?
- room wall thickness and insulation?
- should I look for a dedicated studio room to be located in any particular place in a home for any particular reason (for example: the basement, the 1st floor, 2nd floor, etc)?
- Is there a certain sophistication of wiring that I'll want to ensure a home is capable of powering?
- venting (air and heat)?
- I understand that I might have to have certain factors built after I purchase (reinforced walls for sound isolation?), but with that in mind, are there certain things I should look for in regards to being able to have that work done?