Building a studio.

billabob

Ok, if you could build a studio from stratch, in your garage with a budget of £3000, how would go about it? Im not thinking of doing this just yet as im still learning to use gear better before i invest. But sometime in the not to far future. At my disposal already is a alesis multi mix 8, a laptop, a new mac and a shit load of insulation. How would you go about this?
xxxx

not enough money for me, i would spend that on mics in 5 minutes. but here goes... im gunna do it in dollars.
$1200 Pro Tools Digi 003
$500 2 Matched Rode NT1-A
$200 - 2x SM57
$200 - Beta 52
$200 - Mixing Desk (the $100 one is too small)
$400 - KRK RP8 Monitors
$100 - Sony MDR 7506 Headphones
$100 - Mic Cables
$100 - Mic Stands
=$3000

Its really not enough - buy used if you can.

Generally speaking...(and I'm talking about the build here)

The bigger the better

Rectangle shaped good...square shaped bad

The higher you can make your ceiling the better (if this is an option)

Isolation takes MASS...so depending on how loud you'll be and how close your neighbors are, you may need to look into isolation.

Acoustic treatment is your friend and some of it (at least some) should be figured into the cost of your build.

my 2 pesos mang. ;)

Find a deal on as many bass traps as you can afford. You never can have too much.

hey allen, dont forget £3000 is about the same as $6000 dollars. Would there be any improvements on this budget?
xxx

hey allen, dont forget £3000 is about the same as $6000 dollars. Would there be any improvements on this budget?
xxx

So wait, are we talking gear costs or construction costs?

Does this garage have a garage door? If so, do you intend to keep the garage door or remove it and dedicate the space specifically as a studio? How close are a) neighbors that don't want to hear you and b) outside noises that might affect your sound inside?