Building a pro studio on an amateur budget - triple leaf and other fun

conan

I'm sure there are countless numbers of similar posts, but as this will likely drag on for a few months as my project comes together, I'd like to give some background information so you know what I'm working with and why I'm doing it.. Skip to the last few paragraphs for my actual question about double/triple leaf construction.

I am a dance music producer working on commercial projects; that is, like many people here, I make music for a living. A few years ago I decided that I could no longer work at home due to the noise I make, and eventually found a city centre office in the middle of various bars and clubs, meaning I can make as much noise as I like. Rent has now got very expensive and I decided that instead of spending lots of money every month, I could spend one big chunk of money and end up with a much nicer, more professional studio environment.

I'm not rich, but after buying a new property I have about £6000 (~$10,000) to invest in the new studio, which will be spent entirely on sound reduction, acoustic treatment and general building. Despite having a limited budget I have the distinct advantage of patience and a willingness to get my hands as dirty as necessary. I have a colleague willing to help me, but unfortunately he hates DIY so I'll be doing the bulk of the thinking and donkey work. I have read through these forums (and many others) back-to-back. I've visited pretty much every related site I could find, including the excellent SAE guides and various generic DIY sites. I also bought a big fat book on advanced DIY topics so I can be confident about getting the basics right. I'm now about 50% confident that I will be able to design and implement the project so that a good degree of sound reduction will be achieved and the whole place won't fall down on me. I know it's going to be damn hard work but I don't care; all I can see is the end result.