Building my first studio (HELP!)

Grimm Holiday

I just purchased a Tascam 22-4. My ideal setup is getting it onto my laptop to the masses. Haha.

I need a mixer and an ADC.

I can use the Tascam 16x08 as a preamp and an ADC. (unless there are better ADC options out there?)

I have about $400-500, mayyybe $600 for a mixer.

What mixer do I choose? Any off the top of your head? What do you use?

I'll be needing 8 tracks minimum.

I'm a rookie at this stuff & would truly appreciate the help!!

Well recently, I've had a similar question based on my studio revamp, and I'm not (as a result of the conversation here) going to have a mixer at all. I have one of your interfaces, although I'm going to use another simply because mine has developed an annoying driver issue - my setup's problem not the Tascam. I'm removing the mixer simply because the interface has enough inputs for practically everything I do, and if I needed mega inputs, I'm bring out an old mixer.

I'm reluctant to change, being ancient, but others pointed out that all the things a mixer does can be done in the software, and all I'm using it for is a historic need to have a 'box'. In fairness, it's a good point. A cubase template for me will open a mixer window where all my sources come up, so wasting studio space is pointless, and I do all my mix down stuff on the screen with automation so a pile of manual faders is really just history now. Your 22-4 will go into the interface happily, so the only reason for a hardware mixer is just because you fancy one, not need one. If you're happy with the retro kit, then you might want loads of faders for the historic thing - I get that, but I've discovered, reluctantly, that I really don't need a mixer!

A little table top TEAC/Tascam,Soudcraft,Peavey etc..can come in handy for grouping,effect sends/returns,headphone mixes and monitoring.
The added flexibility with a hybrid setup might be worthwhile.
Pretty damn cheap on the used market.

G