Bass Trap Advice

justanotherjo

Hello Everyone:

I have some questions about treating a room, and I’m hoping you’ll be able to provide some advice—but then again, why else would I be posting?

First, though let me give you some context. I’m a high school English teacher. The shop teacher at our school has put together a nice little studio in one of the music practice rooms. He has actually installed a lot of his own equipment in the studio, and the studio is more or less his baby. The music teacher is not really interested in recording, but the studio is in his territory. Why am I telling you this? Because I don’t have a lot of control over how things will be done, and I can’t do things exactly the way I want to do them. The questions I am asking stem from trying to meet their concerns.

Anyway, the control room is in need of treatment. The room is basically 10 x 15. One of the walls is at a slight angle (maybe 10 degrees off square) and there are windows on two of the walls (including the angled wall). The walls are painted cinder blocks. They are about 10 feet high. The room has a drop ceiling, and I’m not exactly sure how high the actual ceiling is but it is probably an extra six to eight feet. The walls also end at the drop ceiling, and we have a cavernous space for the ductwork above that must be about 15 x 60.

We have access to an almost unlimited supply of midrange and high frequency absorbers (foam covered with fabric). They presently line the room, and the room is almost dead for those frequencies—almost too dead if you ask me. The room has not yet been treated for the bass frequencies.

I want to add some bass traps. Putting rigid fiberglass panels across the corners wouldn’t work because of the windows, door (in the angled wall) and the non-square corners. Also, we would lose too much space.