Advice/Suggestions with semi planning

Conspiracy795

Hey all, new here. First off please remove if I've posted in the wrong place but this seems to be the most appropriate.

Moved into a new house and basement is unfinished - planning on finishing it over the year. Plan is to use some of it for a home studio/jam space. I'm not a professional and this is pretty much a hobby and my bands will be using to rehearse and track demos etc.. That being said, just looking for advice on placement of my desk in the room. The Red X is pretty much out of question as far as useable space goes but just highlighting the possible standing waves that would travel that way. Out of the three spots (orange boxes) where should I place my desk/studio monitors. I will have acoustic treatment/bass traps etc. I'm also open to moving the desk to the opposite side. Whatever side is unused will be used for a home theater/lounge area. Thanks!

Studio Draft.png

35x17 is a luxury for home recording. Nice.

I would forgo the vocal booth. Better to have a more open space than a boxy-sounding box. If that were my space, I'd probably leave the desk where you have it and put the home theatre on the far wall.

Nice size space man! Similar to mine. How high is the ceiling? Is it open and unfinished? Ductwork?

My input/suggestions as follow:

Forget the vocal booth. You are better off using the room to record vocals. Only some acoustic treatment you can make part of the decor of the other half.

Place your desk in center of the left wall to left of the corner you proposed. Off the wall a few feet if possible. Always best to be symmetrical in a mixing space between monitors. Plus it will look better in the lounge/theater room.

Bass traps behind the desk in corners and appropriate acoustic panels in the right spots. As to the unfinished question, you could do a lot with the ceiling to help solve a lot of issues.