When composing lyrics after the melody

ispeck

As a newbie, I found it's hard to start lyrics after the melody. Does anyone have some good technique? please share thanks :)

Once I've recorded a track, I generally hum along what I think will be a good vocal melody then start to come up with some lyrics based on that.

If the melody is anything more than completely basic and I think its a good one that I won't be able to remember, I'll work it out on the guitar and record it so I don't forget and can work on it late when I have some lyrics ready. I'm rarely in a position to start putting work into vocals at the same time as I think of something.

I'm close to JDOD on this one. I work the melody over a chord progression first, but I listen/watch for key words in a hook. It might only be a phrase, but I wait for something to click and I'll build around it later. Then I'll record all the instruments, listening for words or phrases that come to mind, then I write the final lyrics before it's time to record vocals. At that point, the melody is already down, and some key phrases/the hook are there, but the rest I fill out on a whim before I hit record.

Point is, I try to build "around" phrases which I find the most interesting. Honestly, it's usually one of the first words that pop in my mind. I'll hum along a melody and sing to myself, "blahblah ooo blah, one day you blah blah"....then if I like that "one day you...", I'll save it and try to think up a story/lyrics to build around it. I do that over and over. I just find it works better when it comes naturally like that, rather than writing everything down first and then trying to fit it into a song. But hey, lots of bands have done that method. My favorite have done the other though, coincidentally.