Song Structuring..

I have a samba version of Rhapsody in Blue that I'm recording. Normally on a jazz tune like this you play the song through, then everybody takes turns soloing, then you return back to the head and that's it. A B A form.

But on this tune I'm doing a few minutes of solos, then the head, and then back to a few minutes of solos. You could call that B A B form.

There's been some great 1 chord tunes (Low Rider, Shotgun and Lime in the Coconut come to mind) and what makes the tune work is that the arrangement, the order of what happens isn't boring, it changes color enough without more chords. I really admire when someone can make a lot out of very little.

lyrics are usually the last part i write for a song.

I sit down with my guitarist and we hammer out the riffs, talk about progression from each part to the next and if we need to create drum fills or guitar licks to accommodate time changes or sharp changes in sound/dynamics.

the once the lyrics are written we really, really, really, focus on dynamics.

would coming out of the chorus straight into a breakdown be better than chorus to verse? and how we can only probably do that in one song before it becomes boring.

Verse chorus verse chorus Solo/breakdown/bridge chorus

is widely used because it works. it's simple progression that is easy to listen to.

If you can keep the structure different on every song, you've done pretty well for yourself... but it's pretty hard to do. the unique changes stand out so much that if you do it again anywhere else then people will call you formulaic.

as a band you want to be unique and avoid being shackled in, like "oh they sound like Red Hot Chili Peppers"

I like to have my guitarist write around 6-8 different riffs for a song.

from there we can still use a verse/chorus/verse/chorus/bridge/chorus structure but instead the verse riffs change so it keeps the sound fresh.