Melody/Lyrics to Music

Purpleb

I was told to post this question here.
I was listening to some songs today, just a bunch of random indie/alternative/rock and a lot of the time the lyric/lead melody starts on the 2nd beat of a bar, I was just wondering why??

In rock usually isn't beat 1 and 3 the most important/most stressed?? why would you skip beat 1 ??

Is there a basic template or anything of where the lyric/melody starts??

I hear alot of songs that seem like they start on the second beat and tie into the third beat.
and then usually take the fourth beat and tie into the 1st beat of the next measure. Is that a popular way of doing it?? Is there some common ways to do it??

I am just starting out and trying to figure everything out. I like to know the rules and common ways so I can tweak them, break them, and make them my own.
Thanks again I apprecaite it.

Words have stressed and unstressed syllables. For example, in 'window' the natural stress is on 'win': window. With 'begin', the natural stress is on 'gin': begin.

The combination of stressed an unstressed syllables provides the internal rhythm for a poem or lyrics.

Consider:

"Mary had a little lamb"

The stressed bits are:

Mary had a little lamb

The stressed bits are those that would sit on the beat of a song. Thus Ma would fall on beat 1.

Now consider:

Amazing Grace how sweet the sound

Here the stressed bits are:

Amazing Grace how sweet the sound

Notice that the start of the line is the unstressed syllable 'a' of 'amazing'. For the stressed syllable 'ma' to fall on the beat, the 'a' has to come before the beat.

The lyrics have to match the rhythm of a song, but line lengths are not necessarily the same. This means that some lines will start before the first beat of the bar, on the first beat, or after the first beat. This does not reduce the impact of beat 1 or beat 3, because the syllables still reinforce those beats, even if they are not present on those beats.

To prove it to yourself....