Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: How to write songs, when you have absolutely nothing to write about?

Thanks

How to write songs, when you have absolutely nothing to write about?

Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi, well anyway I'm a 17 year old musician struggling to write a set of songs for the cd I'm currently recording. This will be the follow up to a collection of folk, Nintendo styled jazz, and blues I recorded in late 2007 and early 2008. Anyway after a year of neglecting songwriting and music in general I am heading back into the "studio" to record a new set of songs, this time with drums, etc and I will be abandoning the acoustic song (which is frankly kind of boring). I actually tried recording songs a few months ago and I came back with terrible results (the songs were way overarranged and I wasn't experienced enough as a producer). I don't want to go through the same nightmare and try to record them again so I'm deciding to start completely fresh.

But this brings up the problem; I have tons of inspiration when it comes to arranging and producing, but very little in terms of songwriting. I don't have a "girl" to write about which is the crutch for most male songwriters, and I have absolutely no social life to speak of. I am a very talented songwriter and I have some experience producing records (I made an experimental/comedy/midi instrumental album in late 2006 and I made two follow ups in 2007, besides the folk album I recorded) but I feel like I don't have a definite musical purpose and I lack the type of creative spark that drove my last record.

Can you offer me any advice on this? I really would appreciate the help.

Thank you,

Devin (Toasta Whales)

Thanks