How to write songs, when you have absolutely nothing to write about?

Toasta Whales

Hi, well anyway I'm a 17 year old musician struggling to write a set of songs for the cd I'm currently recording. This will be the follow up to a collection of folk, Nintendo styled jazz, and blues I recorded in late 2007 and early 2008. Anyway after a year of neglecting songwriting and music in general I am heading back into the "studio" to record a new set of songs, this time with drums, etc and I will be abandoning the acoustic song (which is frankly kind of boring). I actually tried recording songs a few months ago and I came back with terrible results (the songs were way overarranged and I wasn't experienced enough as a producer). I don't want to go through the same nightmare and try to record them again so I'm deciding to start completely fresh.

But this brings up the problem; I have tons of inspiration when it comes to arranging and producing, but very little in terms of songwriting. I don't have a "girl" to write about which is the crutch for most male songwriters, and I have absolutely no social life to speak of. I am a very talented songwriter and I have some experience producing records (I made an experimental/comedy/midi instrumental album in late 2006 and I made two follow ups in 2007, besides the folk album I recorded) but I feel like I don't have a definite musical purpose and I lack the type of creative spark that drove my last record.

Can you offer me any advice on this? I really would appreciate the help.

Thank you,

Devin (Toasta Whales)