Best way to write a song

Lindy93

Whats the best way to start writing music? I'm a new musician; I have always wanted to sing and I can play acoustic guitar, but when it comes to writing songs I'm kind of lost. I have lots of lyrics written out already for songs, but my problem is with the melody and trying to figure out different tunes and beats, along with notes for singing. I'm afraid I don't have enough creativity xD I have a rough start done for one, and it sounds pretty good to me, but I have no idea how to do something different. its like that melody and beat is the only thing I can really think of. And unfortunately I don't have a ton of connections quite yet to help me out on it because I have just moved to a new area. I am also a perfectionist, so I tend to rewrite things over and over and over again. Any help and tips would be appreciated!!

Man, just do what compels you to write. You have it in your head, just find a way to get that down.

Sorry, but if you are not able to play an instrument yet, then learn one. If you are not proficient with stringed instruments or percussion, then use a DAW to create your vision with software.

Either way, if you have something in your head that has worth to you and personally warrants your desire to be recorded, then find a way to do it. Whether finding others to collaborate or doing it yourself, it will be tough for you to 'not' have the ability to show what is in your head without putting it out there in some audio form.

Start now and make it happen. :)

Put the lyrics and the voice away and just try to create a piece of music that's interesting. Then fit / adapt lyrics to it.

A lot of singer/songwriters start from the lyrics, which are usually pretty structured, and so end up with songs that have no real (interesting) music behind them. Chord 2, 3, 4, Chord 2, 3, 4, ad nauseum. Try doing it the other way. Make up some music first. Works for me.