Anyone ever write music in their sleep?

PTravel

Senior Senior Member
Sometimes I'll wake up with music in my head -- new music that I hadn't though about before. I'll either boot up a DAW and record it or, if I'm not at home, try to write it out (I'm not very good at that). This happened to me today. I took a nap this afternoon, woke up with music in my head and got it into my DAW.

Does this ever happen to anyone else?

happens to me sometimes,wake with the whole song finished in my head,completed like listening to a cd ... when i wake i usually feel like crap so its a battle to try and work it out before it gets lost .. if i dont it will keep on looping over and over till i at least get the basics down ... sometimes i dont even like em and listen to something else to try and forget about it,can be really annoying at times.

another time when it comes from nowhere is when doing pointless tasks,i kinda get to the point where i clear my head then say cook or make a drink and BOOM something will hit me outta the blue ... journeys when im the passenger,its kinda strange its like the "zone" you get into when you play,switch off and it happens ...

another strange thing is i can dream a whole film but be in it (kinda an actor,main lead or bit part ) or just watch ...

gotta ask,does it take a lot out of you? i often feel exhausted and completely drained like i haven't slept

Yes! Music flows from my subconscious. Problem is, usually between the bed and DAW I've got it so messed up I end up with a different song...
I also used to dream full episodes of Star Trek that I'd never seen. Don't even particularly care for the Spock & Kirk stuff. I was really glad when those dreams stopped.