A Zoom R24, a Behringer FX200 Vizualizer 3D and DBX 286s. Advice please!

ey_tony

Hopefully one of you guys will be able to help with my request by clarifying something as I'll explain. It's a bit long winded so please bear with me.
Briefly I have a Zoom 24 as my main 24 track recorder, the output from which is fed into to very large studio monitors with 8" speakers. It's excellent for recording guitar but for microphone/vocals when using the R24's onboard effects, in my opinion it leaves a fair bit to be desired, at least it does in my view as I was a full time pro singer guitarist for 14 years many years ago so even though I'm out of touch with the latest technology, I still recognise when something isn't quite right.

I have an original TC Helicon Harmony Singer which I bought nearly six years ago and I decided to try that and an SM58 fed into a basic channel on the R24 without any onboard effects engaged for vocals to see if I could get rid of what is probably latency when the R24's effects were chosen and the results are pretty good in fact it's better than good though perhaps a little restricted with regard to reverb. I was always used to tape echos which are completely different to digital offerings which quite honestly are nothing near as good for live sound as the tape echos of the past in my opinion but again that's just personal.

Now, getting back to my request for information...
A few days ago I picked up a fully working Behringer FX2000 Vizualizer 3D multi FX processor unit in excellent condition for the princely sum of £30.00 which was a bargain. With no experience of modern equipment etc, I hadn't realised that it won't accept a microphone or guitar input therefore I'd effectively need a mixer to make use of it, which I don't have though I've tested the unit out on a guitar amplifier with an effects loop system and it works fine, so I've confirmed it's working well.