Why does my ISA One have more noise than my Scarlett?

mrbman

I'm a recording noob trying to understand why my new ISA One preamp hasn't reduced the noise in my recordings.

I have a small bedroom recording setup that includes a Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3rd gen and an SM58 (my only microphone). With this setup I am trying to record quiet acoustic guitar, but of course it requires a lot of gain from my Scarlett. With the gain knob at around 80%, the 4i4 starts getting noisy and the volume is still too low.

To get a recording with less hiss and more gain, I figured it would be fun to try upgrading to a more powerful external preamp. I bought a new ISA One and plugged it into the rear line level input on my 4i4. I expected that this setup would let me turn the ISA One up to 60-65 dB and get a cleaner and louder signal than what I get from my Scarlett's built-in preamps.

While the raw audio from the ISA One is certainly louder than the Scarlett, my recordings still have just as much noise, if not more. In fact, it seems like I get better results from my Scarlett alone by just recording at 80% gain and increasing the volume in my DAW to match the raw volume from my ISA One. I've attached a recording from my ISA One at 60 dB going into the rear line level input of my 4i4, and a comparison recording from my 4i4 at 80% gain and the volume increased to match the ISA One file. To me, the ISA One does not sound like an improvement.

Am I making an amateur blunder? Was I wrong to expect that the ISA One would let me record at these levels with less noise than my Scarlett? Many people online have shown that adding Cloudlifters and other preamps to a Scarlett can make a big difference in noise reduction, so what am I missing? If my goal was to reduce noise in this situation, should I have purchased a nice condenser microphone instead of trying to get more juice to my SM58? Would appreciate any insight from those who have more experience.

Attachments

• Scarlett 4i4 noise.mp3