Where to start?

aldtech

Where to start?

Newbie here and this is my second post.

So I'm an old fart guitar player who is getting increasingly pissed off at loosing my creative moments every time I play/practice. Back in the day (think 80s-90s) I would record my "practices" for posterity on a Tascam 246 or through it to a TEAC real to real (more economical time and media wise). Once I got to the end of the tape I would review and bounce down to an idea tape then record over the practice sessions. Subsequently since those days all my stuff got ripped off when leaving the service (US Army) from Germany back to the states which leaves me with having to start over equipment wise again. That was quite a pisser of a loss and I'll just leave that there.

Anyways, here I am today and I want to get back to recording but I don't have a proper idea of where to start equipment wise. I really loved the simplicity of analogue tape recording and I got pretty good at bouncing things around and mixing it all down but looking around I come to realization that tape is no longer a viable format (nor can you find it on the cheap) and digital is the way to go. But what do you start with? I have a guitar/amp and an effects processor as well as an older POD XT and I've been thinking of using an old boom box that I have sitting around as well as a not so old Mackie mixer just to get the practice recordings gong again but obviously I will need more than that as I will want to mix it down to something. As far as the POD XT goes, because of its age the software associated with it is not usable with today's computer technology. Specifically, the Line 6 software for that model is incompatible with Windows 10 or any other 64 bit OS. Money is always a factor as well as space so I'm looking for a small portable device to begin with that I can connect to a PC and utilize today's supportive recording software.