What's the reason for a vocal booth?-or- Live room vs dead room

Muddy T-Bone

Newbie here.

Im trying to get understand the reason for using a dead space as a vocal booth. The isolation part of a vocal booth i get completely.

I think I'm getting it now as the last recording I made, I sang the vocals in a beautiful sounding room. Large 20x30 with 14' ceilings. Same room that I record instrumentation in. I'm having a very difficult time getting the vocals to sound right in the mix. The major problem seems to be that whatever verb I choose to enhance it just doesn't sound good. In fact vocals dry just don't sound that great either.

Perhaps the verb fx are interacting with the natural verb of the room, making it sound funky?

On previous recordings, I would track instruments in the room above, and record vocals outside my "studio" in a smaller very dead space. The vocals seemed to be much easier to manage from a mix perspective than this last one in the larger live room.

So my experience now indicates that a dead space for recording vocals seems to better than a live space. Why do instruments sound better tracked in the larger live room, while vocals seem to work better in an acoustically deader environment ?

I've just completed a recording that I'm

I think of the ideal vocal room being neutral, not dead but having no problem reverb.

I record all the vocal in my studio around the middle of the recording room and never have a problem with the vocal sound. However, I usually have a reasonably dead surface behind the singer, so I record the singer facing across the narrow part of the room, with their back to either a broad band absorber or the doubled up theatre curtain I have along the other side wall (with some heavy absorbers behind), both work well.