What Other Equipment Do I Need?

jmusser218

Hey everyone! I'm new to recording and need some advice on equipment. Right now, I have an MXL V67G going into a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 interface and then into Sony Acid Music Studio 9. My monitors are the Presonus Eris E5 active monitors. I mainly record vocals and piano, and I have a horrible time trying to get the vocals to sound anywhere near professional or at least somewhat good. No matter what effects, compressors, or EQ I add to the vocals, they still sound flat and unnatural. When I record, the signal I get is very patchy and is either extremely quiet or too soft. When I see vocal tracks on professional setups, the waveforms they have look very full and have very little spikes in the signal. I was thinking if I used a microphone preamp with the 2i2, I could get a more even signal going into and coming out of the interface with less spikes and distortion. Would the preamp help me in this regard? Maybe I could get some more clarity with the preamp as well? Also, I was wondering how much difference in sound quality the DAW makes? In mine, it seems like it can't take much sound level at all before it starts to peak. The effect plug-ins aren't that great either. Would a better DAW be a good investment? Any answers and suggestions you guys can make for me would be greatly appreciated. I want to get my recordings sounding great! Thanks!

Hey everyone! I'm new to recording and need some advice on equipment. Right now, I have an MXL V67G going into a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 interface and then into Sony Acid Music Studio 9. My monitors are the Presonus Eris E5 active monitors. I mainly record vocals and piano, and I have a horrible time trying to get the vocals to sound anywhere near professional or at least somewhat good. No matter what effects, compressors, or EQ I add to the vocals, they still sound flat and unnatural.

The key part of this is that you say you are new to recording so you have a lot to learn.