Vocal recording technique question

Watchtower12

Hey Guys,
Newbie here, looks like a great place to learn some new stuff.

Just wondering, if I was to fabricate a Mic mount for 2 condenser mics, so they were close and pretty much unified in location, running them thru 2 separate mic pres, both with phase switches, and then recorded to 2 separate tracks, do you think it would work ?
Are there any major problems I would face ?

Thanks for any feedback,
JS

Is this what you are thinking about?
31c1nvyYDbL.jpg

There are several companies that make bars for setting mics up in things like ORTF, XY or Blumlein. They are useful for recording choirs, acoustic guitars, etc. to give a nice stereo image. Two channels, two mics, one stand and hit record. Cost run from $10 for very basic ones, to $100+ for more elaborate devices.

The trick is learning what the various micing techniques are and then deciding what result you want. Sometimes its trial and error, but after a while you'll probably find what works best for your recording situations.

For vocals, there's no point in doing it unless you have two mics with specific different sounds. You are talking about a single point source of sound, so both mics will pick up the same sound, assuming they are close together. I've done it with 2 stands, two different mics to see if one mic was better than the other for my voice. With a pop filter and both mics about 2" back - I didn't want to go further because one was an SM58, the other an LDC. The sound was minimally different, but what I expected. I only used one track in the mix.

Mono source is always going to be mono. However if you are looking to mic an instrument in a good room that needs some depth, then by all means try that.

It is not typically used for vocals so much. There is not so much 'stereo image' to capture unless you are in a theater. Then there is a room to be recorded.

Though never a bad idea to experiment.