Vocal Overdubs

mfa

I want to record my acoustic guitar while I also sing, however, I realize that vox track might not be a keeper whereas the guitar probably will be.
What are the work-arounds for this???
Newbie here. Perhaps this is an age old question. Sorry.

The obvious answers are A) Do one or the other first, and then do the other, or B) Practice until you can be sure of the vocal... You can get some isolation with the proper pattern on a microphone, but I'll leave that up to the guys that actually do that sort of thing. I'm an A person...:D

Record the guitar while you sing.

Record a guitar only track alongside the vox & guitar track

Record a vox only track along side the new guitar track.

Delete the vox & guitar track

I want to record my acoustic guitar while I also sing, however, I realize that vox track might not be a keeper whereas the guitar probably will be.
What are the work-arounds for this???
You could mime while you play the guitar.

Another option.. play an electric guitar while singing the vocal. Don't record the guitar, just monitor your playing. Do record the vocal. Then add the acoustic over the vocal.

If you don't have an electric, maybe grim will loan you one of his.. :eek: ... ;)

If you record both, then you really have to punch-in both, in most home recording setups. There's usually just too much bleed, even if you've got a plugged in acoustic, the vocal track is going to have acoustic guitar, and if it suddenly disappears in the overdub, it will be noticeable, except if there's a much bigger mix yet to come. (You *might* be able to compensate by raising a plugged-in guitar track slightly, but it'll be less work to just do both, at least that's my experience.)