Tempo mapping non-clicked track to vibe VI drums and grid

Zydeceltico

Hi All -

I'm a singer/songwriter with a home studio. I write a variety of songs most of which tend to show my affinity for the '70s and '90s.

I've been using Reaper since 2012 and Superior Drummer almost as long.

While I love what I'm able to achieve with SD3, I continue to miss the vibe of a real drummer who instinctively speeds up at choruses and naturally falls back in a verse or drives ahead of the beat in a bridge.

Also - I write the vast majority of my songs on either acoustic guitar or piano. I just bought the Townsend mic system to use with my Apollo Duo - -which I absolutely love.

The reason I bring this up is that the quality of sound I'm getting with that setup is so good that I want to approach my tracking of the overall song differently.

In the past, I have always recorded a scratch track of me playing and singing a song to a click, finding or creating a suitable groove in SD3, then retrack instruments and vocal separately and individually......and I always feel like it loses vibe - - - - -because it does.

So now - -with this new mic system - - I feel like I am totally wasting great vibe by trashing my scratch after I have a drum groove.

I want to use my scratch of vocal/guitar as the final and then put all of the other arrangement to it.

But that means I need to get the click to follow my live performance rather than the opposite - and I need SD3 specifically to follow my groove/meter.

Anybody have tips/tricks/suggestions?

I've watched Kenny's video on tempo mapping and that is obviously where I am headed. Thinking creatively about stretch markers also.

But does anybody have any "user experience" outside of pointing me at his video that might be beneficial? Specifically regarding attempting this with SD3?