The strokes sound

vacant

OK this is a very similar post to the one about fuzzy vocals but slightly different. Im looking to get a very "strokes" ish sound from vocals and guitars. Are there any techniques you guys would suggest? I have pro tools le and a fairly limited set of plugins, amplitube, t-racks, autotune, etc. nothing fancy. I have heard about sending vocals thru an amp and micing the amp, but i have no experience with it, if you could help me id appreciate it.

I remember reading an article about a recording session on the Strokes. I think the singer plugged a mic directly into a small keyboard amp then the amp was mic'd back to to desk. A lot of room mic's in weird places were used also, and the drummer played with his hihats way out on the left to cut the spill into the snare mic. was really interesting, wish I had a link for you.

Could have been on SOS I read it

LemonTree said:
I remember reading an article about a recording session on the Strokes. I think the singer plugged a mic directly into a small keyboard amp then the amp was mic'd back to to desk. A lot of room mic's in weird places were used also, and the drummer played with his hihats way out on the left to cut the spill into the snare mic. was really interesting, wish I had a link for you.

Could have been on SOS I read it

Here's the link-

why anyone would want to sound like the strokes is beyond me.

vocals - sing through any mic, into a small solid state amp, and mic that with any mic. helps to have the amp in another room or closet to avoid bleed. also helps to have a little gain on it.

guitars -

they sound like they were recorded direct; and processed with software. the high end on their distored tracks seems to go beyond the capabilities of a guitar speaker.

i have done no reading on them or anything. but I can tell you that their guitars are tracked over and over again. and panned. and not natural sounding.