Running a song through analog?

LexLacefield

Hi, I am an electronic music producer and I have been hearing a few times other producers talking about running their songs through analog to get a better sound from them. I am guessing this is at the mix/mastering part of the song but do not know what they mean. I use a daw and get sounds some samples, digital synth, my analog modular synth and recordings from my mic. What would it mean to route my songs through analog. And I know analog usually sounds better to my ears but can someone explain why? Thanks

Lex

surprised you do not know what they mean...

analog adds a certain character, usually through the audio going through transformers, valves and a class A discreet circuits which can transform the sound, it can be very subtle, or quite dramatic, a bit like film on a film camera, the colours are not as realistic but the eye likes them more, it's very difficult to explain why though, we are naturally biased, even academics are biased but they like to think they aren't, human beings are imperfect by nature, the imperfections are present in the analog domains that aren't there in digital, and we reflect with that.

Slap a "tape" plugin on your stereo bus, and call it a day....

...because in order to run your audio through some analog gear that would be a real benefit, you would need to invest a substantial amount of money into quality analog gear, in order to improve/change the audio, and to appreciate what the analog gear does for you...and that also would be subtle, and mostly appreciated by people who are familiar with quality analog gear and know how it sounds and what it does.

So just "running through" some/any kind of analog piece of gear will not really do much for you.