Recording trumpet for beginners?

MushCreek

I'm just getting into home recording and DAW. My main instrument is trumpet, so we'll start there. I bought an inexpensive Presonus bundle, but I know I'll need more/better equipment as I get into it. I'm going to have a friend lay down some piano accompaniments, then I'll try to add trumpet track(s). All it needs to do is sound better than our current method, which is a cell phone!

We tried to record some trumpet music for Easter. We recorded it in the sanctuary, which makes trumpet sound wonderful. It's like singing in the shower. For some reason, the camcorder wouldn't pick up the sound well, so they had me play into the small PA mike in the podium. It sounded awful. All of the room sound was GONE. It was about like playing in a small closet. Since no one there has any idea how to record or edit, we ran with it, but I want to do better- a lot better.

The bundle comes with a cheap, large diaphragm condenser mic. I know it's not ideal, but it has to be better than a smart phone. I've heard a matched pair of small diaphragm mics is better, and better for recording the piano, too. Thoughts? Bear in mind that I'm an old man with weak computer skills, and living on Social Security, so a $200 pair of mics is a major purchase for me. Any help would be most appreciated!