Recording My First Orchestra

cortex

Hello everyone my name is Gwilym and i am a music technology student.
I am going to be recording a choir, six soloists and an orchestra in a big church in april and i was just wondering how i would mic it all up.
I have listened to verdies requiem in this church before and the acoustics are spot on in my humble opinion.

I am waiting on the organizers to get back to me about the exact instruments that will be there and also a floor plan to where the instruments and people will be situated. I will be going down there to do some measurements on monday so im sorry if i seem a little vague

Here are the microphones that are available to me

Shure SM58's

Earthworks QTC 1's

Sontronics Orpheuse's

Sontronics stc1's

AKG 414's

Neumann U87's

Sennheiser 421's

and more...........

Im thinking of doing a decca tree configuration with an earthworks qtc1 in the middle and the 414s as outriggers, however this may be a bit of an eyesore/ health and safety issue, so im going to have to come up with another plan for the main pair just incase. does anyone have any ideas?

maybe spaced cardioid akg 414's with earthworks omni in the middle?
or some sort of ortf or blumlein configuration

my next question is what would be a good spot microphone for different sections of the orchestra?

what would be a good microphone to use for each of the six soloists?

i think i would also like to use something towards the back of the church for ambience aswell, which mics could be good for this?

if you have any further questions please dont hesitate to ask, i will try my best to answer them.

Go easy on me peeps :):):):):)

Seems like a pretty cool project man. ;)

Unfortunately, I don't have a lot of the mics listed so no help there.
Is this going to be a one time shot you get at this or will you have a little time for mic and placement experimentation?